A New Take on Valentine’s Day


valentineYour partner is not into it? You don’t have a partner – (and you’re not looking either)? So what?$#!! This is a day to smell the flowers, to even eat a little bit of dark chocolate … and to write a ditty just for the heck of it.  So you wrote it in a card and sent it to yourself? Good on you! If you’re not the ditty-writing type, here’s one of mine you are welcome to croon out to the night air, send to a lusciously desired love or, more realistically, to read to your partner snoring in the chair …

I’m planning to read it during my set at Lily’s Ranch House on Valentine’s day – it’s a great place to enjoy being real, so they won’t mind. The music is  fun whatever comes, and the atmosphere makes you not want to go. Peter Leith and friends sing and play, and Baby Boomer Girl is strutting her stuff there quite often on a Friday night too: Lily’s Ranch House, 137 Fairfield Road, Levin, Tel: 06 3670251

You’ve got a couple of days to write a love poem or song, and we would love to read it. Post your masterpiece via the ‘Comments’ facility below – and wait for the accolades, and maybe some romance, to pour in!

A Chocolate Rose

Tis said St Valentine fervently prayed
To serve a world divinely made
His deepest prayers to the almighty
Were also heard by Aphrodite
So he was blessed from high above with
A double dose of divine love!

What to do with the overflow?
So much love and nowhere to go!
(No planes or cars on air or street;
He only had two sandalled feet)
Luckily Cupid rescued the fellow
Providing wings and a bow and arrow

Now every year around Beltane
The forces of love conspire to inflame
Each heart to soar and seek a mate
And you, my love, I ask to take
Will you be my Valentine
To share with me the love divine?

Would you I pledge my life this day?
Or rather you fancy an evening’s play?
(For love is love whether lofty or sporty
Long live God and Aphrodite!)
My love! To sport in tryst with you – Yes!
To St Val – a chocolate rose or two!

2 Comments

Filed under A Boomer Life

2 responses to “A New Take on Valentine’s Day

  1. download free song

    Valuable info. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by chance,
    and I’m stunned why this accident didn’t happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  2. I had no idea you are now part of the Levin music scene. Good on you. Sounds like a very good space.
    jCongrats on the poem. St V’s Day passed me by totally. I didn’t know it was on!

Leave a Reply

